Asia > Southeast Asia > Borneo



Borneo is the third largest non-continental island in the world (after Greenland and New Guinea). The island is located in Southeast Asia, straddling the equator. It's sparsely populated and famous for ancient rainforests filled with wildlife, including several primates and various rare and endangered species. The island also has extensive caves and rivers. In Indonesian, the term Kalimantan is used to refer to the entire island of Borneo, not just the Indonesian-controlled part as in Malay and English.

It is divided into three parts, administered by separate countries:

Borneo regions - Color-coded map
a tiny oil-rich monarchy occupying two small portions of the northwestern coast
  East Malaysia (Sabah and Sarawak)
the Malaysian part, occupying the northern third of the island
  Kalimantan (Central, East, South and West)
the Indonesian part, occupying the central and southern regions

Some islands that are part of the Philippines — Palawan and the Sulu Islands — are geographically close to Sabah, and have some things in common with Borneo in flora, fauna, history and culture.

Get in


The island's main airports by passenger traffic are Pontianak (PNK IATA), Banjarbaru (BDJ IATA), and Balikpapan (BPN IATA) in Indonesia and Kota Kinabalu (BKI IATA) and Kuching (KCH IATA) in Malaysia.

This region article is an extra-hierarchical region, describing a region that does not fit into the hierarchy Wikivoyage uses to organise most articles. These extra articles usually provide only basic information and links to articles in the hierarchy. This article can be expanded if the information is specific to the page; otherwise new text should generally go in the appropriate region or city article.